When you have a very active toddler, any toy that keeps him or her entertained for longer than two minutes is a major win. My 19-month-old son loved the play tunnels he saw at different classes and play spaces around the city, so my husband and I decided to get him one he could play with all the time. We tested the collapsible Pacific Play Tents Find Me Multi-Color Tunnel to see if it could keep him engaged—and fold up when not in use.

Design: Collapses compactly for easy storage

This multicolored tunnel is very simple in design, but toddlers seem to just love crawling through it and playing peekaboo inside. It’s made of polyester (190T 70 denier polyester taffeta, to be exact), with a durable spring-steel frame and foam padding on the inside for comfort while crawling through.  At 6 feet long and 19 inches wide, the tunnel is fairly large. However, you can collapse the tunnel and tie the ends together with the hook-and-loop straps. We live in a small apartment, so we can’t have it out all of the time, but being able to easily store it is a major pro.  I brought it to my parents’ house for outdoor play, too (the tunnel is for indoor and outdoor use!). If you have space, whether indoor or outdoor, this tunnel is compatible with a variety of Pacific Play Tents’ tunnels and tents, so you can make a larger, more fun play area.  Packing the tunnel down took a little maneuvering the first few times, but once it’s flat, it can be easily stowed away for the next playtime. 

Entertainment Value: A toy that will actually keep your toddler occupied 

I have yet to come across another toy that makes my son light up as much as this tunnel does. If he’s cranky or if I need him to be occupied while I cook dinner, I can take out the tunnel, and he’s immediately happy and engaged. He keeps himself entertained (while I kept an eye on him, of course), so this tunnel is like a treat for him and me!  He loves to crawl through the tunnel with his toys and play peekaboo. We tried standing the tunnel upright and putting it over him to play peekaboo, and he loved that as well. I even brought it out for a playdate, and the two boys played with it for at least 20 minutes—it was glorious! 

Age Range: Will entertain your child for years to come

Pacific Play Tents recommends the tunnel for children ages 24 months to 10 years (and the included instructions actually say 3 and up, but we confirmed with the company that it’s the former). However, my son and some of his other baby friends have been playing in tunnels like this one since they could really crawl (before they were 1), so I felt confident that it would be appropriate for him at 19 months. Parents will definitely need to keep an eye on their kids when they are that young, but they still can use it and enjoy it. We like that this toy will last for many years, unlike other toys that our son will outgrow in a few months. 

Ease of Cleaning: Wipe down

During outdoor play at my parents’ house, this tunnel got a little dirty. Thankfully, it easily wipes clean with a damp cloth and mild soap. I had it looking good as new before I collapsed it and brought it back home. The one thing I wish this toy had was a storage bag to keep it protected and clean in storage.

Price: A great, affordable buy  

Pacific Play Tents Find Me Multi-Color Tunnel vs. POCO DIVO Kids Tunnel Children Color Tube Toy Tent

There are several other play tunnels out there like this one, but I wanted to see if there were others that came with a storage bag, as that was one of my cons with the Pacific Play Tents model. The POCO DIVO Kids Tunnel Children Color Tube Toy Tent features the same bright colors and folds flat, just like the one I tested, but it comes with a storage bag and is a little bit cheaper at about $20.  My son and I absolutely loved the Pacific Play Tents Find Me Multi-Color Tunnel; though a very simple concept, it keeps him engaged longer than any other toy. And the fact that it can be collapsed and stored away easily when not in use was a big plus for me.